Throughout the year, in every community or town, individuals step up and attempt to make an impact on the community as well as the world.  You usually see it more during the holiday season where individuals will set up food drives to provide Thanksgiving or Christmas dinners for individuals and families who are less fortunate.  I will always bring something into my work, who participates in events like these. These are wonderful ways to help make an impact in someone’s life by doing a small gesture like that.

thinkkindness-1355879448_600

There was one company who caught my attention over the past week.  A friend of mine is currently doing an internship for a local company called think Kindness, and had posted a picture on Instagram about it. What they are doing is putting on a shoe drive in the local area, trying to collect individuals’ old shoes they do not wear anymore but are still in decent condition and then ship them to parts of the world where people do not have shoes. I thought this was an incredible idea, especially before the spring and summer season when people are in need of them. I knew I had quite a few shoes that I just do not wear any more, and figured this is a wonderful opportunity to get rid of them and present them to someone who could really use them.

I am currently in the process of gathering shoes up from my closet and putting them in a bag so I can donate them to this great cause.  I have been asking family and friends to see if they have any as well to donate.  If you have any extra shoes lying around your house that you do not want any more then feel free to make an impact on someone else’s life and donate them to think Kindness! McQueen and Manogue High Schools are joining this company in helping the cause.  If you would like to donate, call 775-636-8026, and they will be able to assist you in collecting the donation. I think this is an incredible way to make an impact on someone and I thank think Kindness for what they are doing!

Today when you go look in your closet and see the pair of shoes that you have not worn in 8 months or even longer, think about donating them to think Kindness and help make an impact on someone else’s life!

Photo Credit

