It was this day, six years ago, that the man that made a huge impact on my life passed away.  This man was my Grandfather.

My Grandfather was a father to five and a grandfather to twelve, but more than that, he was a mentor and leader to many.  Family meant everything to him and he would do everything in his power and ability to cgpaare and provide for his family.  He also had the pleasure of being a professor at the University of Nevada, Reno, where he was awarded the F. Donald Tibbits Distinguished Teaching Award, the award presented to teacher nominated by their school’s Dean who displays characteristics of being the most outstanding professor in the respected year. He was known for his grueling accounting exams, and his theory that you do not get a grade you earn it. He has an award in his honor, the BJ Fuller Excellence in Teaching award is given out each year to one professor who demonstrates a commitment to students and community service.

I will never forget all the memorable and wonderful times I was able to share with him.  Like him picking me up from middle school a few days a week and taking mgpa2e to 7-11 and letting me pick out something to drink and eat each day.  Or sitting with him watching Ole Miss football, basketball, or baseball games ; leading to my passion and likeness for Ole Miss to this day.  The many fun times of going to the beach or going hiking while staying with them in Lake Tahoe during the summer when I was a young boy.  His support for me and my brothers was unlike any other. All of the basketball, football, and baseball games he would come to, he always tried to be at every single one.  The many life lessons he taught me and the values he instilled in me as a young boy that I still live by today.

He was a very impactful man, not just on me and my family, but on all of his students he taught, the University of Nevada, Reno, and anyone who he encountered throughout his life.  He is the most caring man I have ever known.  If you ask anyone who had the opportunity to meet him, they have nothing but wonderful things to say about him and his teachings.  I inspire to live my life every day to make him proud of whom I am and who I have and will become.  If it was not for him, I would not be the man I am today.  I am honored and humbled to be his grandson.

Leave a comment below telling about a family member who has impacted you!

Photo Credit

